Pardon me while I scream into this pillow…

Two of my kids are starting school on Wednesday. Like…SCHOOL. The kind with teachers that are not me, and homework, y’all. We haven’t used that dirty word since the summer of 2007.

Classes, schedules, and (shudders) homework.

I am churning inside with a combination of anxiety, dread, excitement, and curiosity. I am just an observer. A cheerleader. An encourager.

For the first time in 7+ years, I am no longer in charge of their education. I didn’t make out any schedules, or order books, or do any blogging. I feel a little bit hollow. But then I think about this opportunity they have to receive a great books/classical education, and I get so excited for them that I can barely stand it.

Sydni seems to be flat-out excited and ready to rock this thing. She was disappointed that Cole had an assignment to complete before classes begin.

Cole is wary. He doesn’t like anything that cuts into his game time, which is one of the main reasons we chose this option. However, he logged in tonight for some pre-semester orientation modules and I caught him not only smiling, but laughing. I am taking it as a good sign. He also asked me to help him add his schedule to the calendar on his phone…with alerts. *shiny*

There is one snag that has me singing charter school blues today – they are not following the CCSD calendar. I work the CCSD calendar teaching an after school program. This means my kids have a different spring break than me. It’s a pretty bum deal.

I am already making adjustment plans for camping (either I request time off, or I pull them for a few days), but I had hoped it would be easier to navigate vacation time. In the grand scheme of things, it will be fine. They will be (essentially) done with school by mid-May, which coincides with the end of my work schedule. That will be pretty fantastic.

So, pardon me for a moment while I scream into this pillow over here. I am not sure if I am screaming with nervous excitement or frustration. It’s probably a little of both. Check in with me next week. I may have more objectivity then. 😉

4 thoughts on “Pardon me while I scream into this pillow…

  1. Anne says:

    When my kids went to school after years of homeschooling, and I was really giving it up, it was so hard. I felt just like you. It’s been so wonderful for our family. And with the kind of mom you are, you will still be so involved with how they learn. ((hug))

  2. Lee says:

    Hello,
    I have enjoyed reading your blog. I also homeschool my children, and it’s been my newly turned 13 year-old is asking and need more. Would you mind sharing more about the school you enrolled your kids? Is it online or brick-and-mortar school? I, too, am interested in classical education/ Great Books-based education. We’ve been doing TJEd for a few years now.
    Thank you,
    lvnpc64@gmail.com

    • Becky says:

      Hi Lee,

      The school is called Leadership Academy of Nevada. It’s an online public charter school for NV students, but it is an off-shoot of Williamsburg Academy, which is a private online middle school and high school. It’s a blend of classical, STEM, and leadership courses.

Leave a comment