Cooking · Food

Braised Leg Quarters with Brussels Sprouts

I whipped this up last night in a frenzy of “oh crap, I took meat out to thaw but forgot to put it in the crock pot.” I am sure I am not alone in that. I had good intentions, but a busy morning, and it was nearly dinner time before I realized I never started dinner. It was a happy accident, however, because this dinner was really yummy.

I am not technically sure if I am allowed to call it braised, but I am going with it. Just humor me. 😉

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken leg quarters
  • 3-4 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 packages Brussels sprouts
  • 1 medium onion, sliced
  • 8-12 garlic cloves (or more, go crazy!)
  • Salt, pepper, paprika, oregano to taste*

 

Preheat your oven to 375. Add the olive oil to a skillet and heat it up. Season the leg quarters well, and then fry them in the oil to nicely brown the skin. This is a bit of work, but the end result is really, really yummy. You don’t want pale, unseasoned skin…trust me.

photo 2

 

While you have those frying, add the Brussels sprouts, garlic, onion, chicken broth, and some more seasonings to a dutch oven or other covered baking dish. I used my Pampered Chef Deep Baker.

photo 1

photo 3

Arrange your browned leg quarters on top, cover, and bake for one hour. I set my timer for 40 minutes and started a batch of red quinoa during the last 20 minutes of cook time. The flavor was pretty awesome on this and the chicken was tender and delish. I will definitely be making it again, because getting my kids to rave about Brussels sprouts was a major win. Also, it’s pretty easy. Ten minutes of effort and then sitting around waiting for it to finish.

photo 4

YUM!

3 thoughts on “Braised Leg Quarters with Brussels Sprouts

Leave a Reply

