Mother’s Son

I got up at 6:15 this morning in order to go grocery shopping by myself while Lonnie and the kids slept.  I came down stairs at 6:42 to find Cole sitting at the table, fully dressed, and doing his school work.  SERIOUSLY!  I couldn’t believe it.  He was already done with his journal (fixing errors from the day before), his grammar lesson, and he was reading from Seabird.

Ultimately, he decided to take a small break and go with me to the grocery store.  He is well-behaved on his own, and even helpful, so I didn’t mind him coming.  Besides, we don’t often get to spend time alone together.  It was a good morning.

After all the food had been put away, and everyone had some breakfast, I sat down to check his work.  His grammar lesson for today was on singular possessive nouns.  He was to read several sentences like this (from Mrs. Goldfinger’s will):

I give my gold-plated yo-yo, which once belonged to my friend, Milly Molly, to my mailman, Lawrence Letter.

And change them into something like this:

I give my friend Milly Molly’s yo-yo to my mailman, Lawrence Letter.

He did pretty well on it.  Then I noticed what he wrote at the top of the page, in place of his name:

Mother’s son did this early in the morning.

I think he got it!  🙂

Leave a comment