Excerpt from Chapter 1: Little Girl Lost

An excerpt from what I am working on for NaNoWriMo 2017.

Rebekah Johnson - Freelance Writer

This is an excerpt from the first chapter of my 2017 NaNoWriMo novel. It’s a fictional memoir, but nothing in this excerpt is fiction. And this is a rough draft. 🙂

I remember waking slowly, my hips digging uncomfortably into the hard floor. My forehead felt sweaty from the warmth of the room and the waves of heat rolling over me from inside the slippery, polyester sleeping bag twisted around my body. Why was I awake? I breathed in deeply, my eyes opening a little more. Dust and the smell of synthetic carpet fibers filled my nose and that’s when I heard it – the sound of wailing – a miserable low keening that sent chills down my spine. It was the like the mournful cry of an injured animal, but that “animal” was my mother. She half shrieked, half sobbed again. I rolled over and saw she was…

View original post 823 more words

Leave a Reply

