Overnight Peach Oatmeal (THM E)

Peach Oatmeal

 

 

I love oatmeal and I love my crock pot, as you all know. So when I can combine things I love, it makes me *really* happy! This recipe is easy and tasty. You can swap out the fruit for other kinds you enjoy. My family likes apple, raisin, craisin, blueberry, etc.

You will need:

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 1.5 cups almond milk (regular milk works, too)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 peaches, peeled and sliced (you can use canned peaches if they are in their own juice, not syrup)
  • 2 quart crock pot
  • Sweetener of your choice in the morning

Pour all of your ingredients into the crock pot, give them a little stir, set the heat on low, and let it cook for 5-6 hours. I sweeten individual servings in the morning because we all enjoy different levels of sweetness and use different sweeteners. I also add a splash of almond milk to mine right before eating. YUM! Yields 3-4 servings, and the recipe easily doubles in a large crock pot.

I am a night owl, so I just turn the crock pot on when I go to bed between 1:00 and 2:00 AM. Five hours is the right time for mine, as I like the brown, crunchy bits on the side. Some can cook as long as 7-8 hours with the warm feature (if your crock pot has one). You can also purchase a Christmas tree light timer and set that for perfect oatmeal in the morning (if you do not have a timer built in to your slow cooker, and you go to bed during reasonable bedtime hours). They are cheap – around $10 – and work perfectly!

If you are concerned about the oatmeal burning, you can place the smaller crock into a larger one (like the 2 quart into the 6 quart slow cooker) and surround the smaller crock with water, like a double boiler. I never do this because I like those brown, crispy bits. Just offering options! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Overnight Peach Oatmeal (THM E)

Leave a Reply

