Christian, Faith

Death Has Lots its Sting

Today is a sad day for many in the world as we learned of Robin Williams’ passing. I pray for comfort and peace for his family and loved ones. I cannot imagine that kind of loss. It reminds me to be more aware of those who are fighting the battle against depression. I could do more to notice and reach out.

I also find a tremendous amount of comfort tonight in my own beliefs. You see, I am a Christian Universalist, and while I am not alone in that particular theology, I am a minority among those with whom I share the basic tenets of my faith. I can grieve the loss of a human from this earth, and the gifts that are gone for a time, but also feel peace that Christ removed the sting of death from us all.

We are singing a beautiful song at church this coming Sunday and it immediately came to my mind. As I have been learning the words and melodies, it brought tears of joy to my eyes tonight. The veil was torn, and death has lots its sting.

There’s power in the blood to save us from our sin
The covering of grace for all who were condemned
Our rescue from the dark into the light again
There’s power in the blood of Jesus

There’s power in the blood for our pardon and release
To stand in our defense our hope now made complete
Our ransom fully paid in spite of our decree
There’s power in the blood of Jesus

To save us all with mercy and forgiveness
The veil was torn and death has lost its sting
Now God and man, united once again
There’s power in the blood of Jesus

2 thoughts on “Death Has Lots its Sting”

Leave a Reply

