Parenting Tiny Adults

photo 1

Alright! I admit that at 14, 11, and 9, my kids are not adults, but some days, it really feels like we are getting there. We went on vacation to California at the end of June, and honestly, it was the easiest trip I have ever been on with my kiddos. All of us rode the coasters at Magic Mountain and stayed together the whole day. We hit the beach on one of the days, and I could even read while we were there, because they are great swimmers. I could let them roam around Hurricane Harbor without me because they are A. excellent swimmers and B. responsible enough to check in often. We had a blast and it felt like a vacation-vacation. Parents of littles will understand what I mean. When you have little kids, you are constantly running after them, trying to keep up, splitting up as a team to take them to age-appropriate activities, and generally not enjoying your vacation for yourself. It has its own rewards and fun, but it’s not relaxing.

But beyond the awesomeness of the family vacation dynamic, my kids are becoming pretty great people! We share so many interests (because duh – we have been together constantly all these years as a homeschooling family), and they are always surprising me with their thoughts. They have interesting ideas about God, about the universe, and about how and why things happen; I am endlessly fascinated by them.

They are also stretching their wings and testing out what it will mean to live without me. I am conflicted about this: On one hand, I want to have them around always, because I cannot fathom my life without being constantly connected to them. On the other hand, I am insanely proud of them and can’t wait to see what they do with their futures.

Cole is starting high school and has plans for college and video game design. Sydni is starting middle school and hoping to attend LVA for high school, and then go on to art school, and become an animator. Zoey is starting 4th grade (MY BABY!), and still adores biology, and definitely plans to have a science career someday. Things are always subject to change, of course.

A lot of new things have been happening already…like the fact that my oldest two are going to a charter school, instead of homeschooling this year. Cole attended his first high school party recently, and although he didn’t have a fabulous time, the fact is, he was at a high school party with a bunch of kids I don’t even know, and some of them drive. And he has a cellphone now. O.o

Two of my children are almost as tall as I am. Cole has maybe half and inch to go, and Sydni is not far behind. Sydni can also wear my shoes and most of my clothes. *sniffles*

Of course, not everything is fantastic in the teen/tween years. There is a fair amount of grumpiness, too. I have kids who struggle to wake up in the morning and tempers that are eerily similar to the toddler years. Still, as pissed as they get, they also seem to be ready to make amends and talk about things in a mature fashion…at least after a cool down period. I see them making decisions that are questionable and I know they will soon be experiencing some of life’s major heartaches. I am worry about sexual activity, faith, and all the pains of growing up. It’s hard work, this becoming an adult thing. I am not even sure I have it down most days.

This phase of parenting is proving to be challenging, a little heart-breaking, and very exciting all at once. I feel like I will blink and they will be off living their adults lives. I am considering forcing them to sign contracts saying they will text and snapchat every day. Too much?

NO WAY! I think will write up those contracts now. 🙂

photo 2

3 thoughts on “Parenting Tiny Adults

  1. Anne says:

    I could have written almost all of this. It goes too fast, gosh darn it! But it’s such a joy to see these tiny people grow into themselves.

  2. Cori says:

    I love this post, Becky, and soooo understand what you are saying! My almost 11 yo is acting so grown up and my newly 8 yo doesn’t seem to need hugs and constant check ins with mom to say I love you, Mom. I hope that means he is more confident and independent. I am happy and sad. This new school year brings more changes for us too. More independence and some talk about career.

Leave a Reply

