Cooking

Italian-Style Stuffed Zucchini (THM S)

You know when you decide to experiment with a recipe for dinner, and right after you begin cooking you think, “Gee, I should probably take pictures and blog this?”  No?  I guess it’s just me then.  🙂 I had a few zucchini sitting in my veggie crisper and I was craving lasagna, but I didn’t want to go through all the hassle of making low carb zucchini lasagna.  What’s a girl to do?  Well, obviously, make an easier stuffed zucchini version!  I forgot to take pictures until I got started, but I think I managed to get everything but the onion. The cast of characters:

photo 2 (6)
4 zucchini, sliced lenghtwise
photo 1 (6)
1 lbs ground beef (Italian sausage would be delish!)
1 cup ricotta cheese, 2 roma tomatoes (diced), 1 medium onion (chopped, not pictured), 1 cup of chopped spinach, 1 cup reduced sugar spaghetti sauce, salt, pepper, Italian seasoning, garlic powder (to taste), Italian four cheese blend

Pre-heat oven to 350°.  Pre-slice and dice all veggies before beginning.  Place sliced zucchini into a foil-lined pan (I strongly reccoment foil…learn from my sadness) and pre-bake for 15 minutes.  Meanwhile, begin browning the ground meat and when nearly done, add the onion for flavor.

Beef and onion...Mmm!
Beef and onion…Mmm!

Cook meat completely, with no signs of pink.  Drain grease.  Take the zucchini out of the oven and scoop the middle, creating a zucchini “boat.”  Chop up the zucchini innards and add it to the meat, along with the diced tomato and spinach.

Meat and all veggies.
Meat and all veggies.

Cook the meat & veggie mixture for an additional 5 minutes, then add the spaghetti sauce, ricotta cheese, and spices.  Heat though.

Almost ready for stuffing!
Almost ready for stuffing!

Stuff the zucchini boats with a generous portion of the filling.  Top with a generous sprinkle of the four cheese blend and pop them into the oven.

OMG - cheesy goodness!
OMG – cheesy goodness!

Bake 20-25 minutes until the cheese is melted and golden brown, and the zucchini boats are softened.  Enjoy!

photo 4 (4)
Sooooooooo good!

And finally for the very first time, a printable recipe!!  I am really getting my blogging act together.  Go me!  Just click below for a printable pdf.  🙂 Untitled

One thought on “Italian-Style Stuffed Zucchini (THM S)

Leave a Reply

