Food

Good Girl Moonshine

As I get back on track with my eating, I am getting back on track with my drinking, too. No, not booze, though there are days when the idea is tempting…like today! HA!

Anyway, I am sure most of you are familiar with Bragg’s organic, raw, apple cider vinegar, which includes “the mother.” If you are not, you should read up on the health benefits of raw ACV.  Bragg also makes an apple cider vinegar drink that you can buy that combines raw ACV, ginger, and stevia. It’s pretty tasty, but it’s even easier to make your own!

Every day, I drink 2 quarts of a similar apple cider drink that I got from the Trim Healthy Mama ladies called, “Good Girl Moonshine.” It’s simple, healthy, and pretty darn tasty. If you do a search on Pinterest, you will find many variations for flavoring, but I always prefer the original. I think of it as a tangy/zippy lemonade-like drink. My 14 year old son also loves it and calls it his “natural energy drink” and thinks it’s “better than coffee.” That is high praise from him, let me tell you!

Ingredients:

  • 1 quart jar nearly filled with water and ice
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 2 Tbsp raw apple cider vinegar
  • Stevia to taste (I use two shakes of the powdered stevia, or 2-3 squirts of the liquid)

That’s it!  Add it all to the jar, put a lid on, and shake well. I drink mine with a thick, reusable straw because the ginger will settle after a while. Yum!

photo (8)

1 thought on “Good Girl Moonshine”

Leave a Reply

