Life

Be “Extraordinary”

Extraordinary Life

Three years ago, I had a serious revelation about slowing down, embracing the moment, and living with freedom in my spirit.  I blogged about it then and it was a wonderful awakening : My Freedom Song.

Then, nearly two years ago, I had another revelation and I made the decision to have an extraordinary life…because it’s the only life I get, and I realized that it was up to me to make my life exactly what I wanted it to be.  Do I want a good marriage?  Yep!  And it’s up to me to work on my end of that.  Do I want to stop doing things I hate and do more things I love?  Yep!  And I am the only one with the power to say ‘yes’ or ‘no’ when it comes to my time.  I admit, doing things I love has been easier for me than ditching the things I don’t love (or that stress me out).  LOL…I am sure some of you can empathize.  Still, I have gotten rid of some toxic relationships and pared down my schedule to my main passions (and those pesky necessities).

I made a bucket list on Pinterest, and while some of the things on it are BIG DREAMS, lots of my bucket list items are small.  I got my nose pierced, because I had always wanted to.  I stopped saying I wanted to lose weight, and I did it (still ongoing).  I wanted to run a 5k, so I trained for one and did it, a couple times.  I have since added a 10k, and my first half marathon is in a few weeks.

I wanted to teach more, and I have been…like crazy!  Opportunities to teach and tutor have been showing up and I am embracing each one.  It is my calling, and my passion, and I love it.  How blessed is that?

There are other things, too.  I wanted to yell less and be a more patient and present mother.  If I could show you the difference in my parenting in the last two years, you would be amazed!  I am working on spiritual growth and really studying and defining my beliefs for myself, not from the pulpit.

I have surrounded myself with a group of friends who are so wonderful, supportive, and loving, that I feel truly blessed each and every day.  At the same time, I stopped letting myself be paralyzed by broken family relationships.  That one was hard, let me tell you, and I still struggle at times with feeling hurt and left out.

This is a picture of what my ‘extraordinary life’ looks like.  Maybe on the surface it doesn’t look that different from my life before, but inside of me, it’s a whole new world.  I think this quote accurately describes what I am going for, and what I hope to teach my children:

Do not ask your children to strive for extraordinary lives.
Such striving may seem admirable, but it is the way of foolishness.
Help them instead to find the wonder and the marvel of an ordinary life.
Show them the joy of tasting tomatoes, apples and pears.
Show them how to cry when pets and people die.
Show them the infinite pleasure in the touch of a hand.
And make the ordinary come alive for them.
The extraordinary will take care of itself.
― William MartinThe Parent’s Tao Te Ching: Ancient Advice for Modern Parents

‘Extraordinary’ is really nothing more than seeing ‘ordinary’ with new eyes and a sense of wonder.  It’s nothing more than allowing a life to be fully lived and enjoyed.  That is my Sunday prayer for myself, my loved ones, and for you.

1 thought on “Be “Extraordinary””

Leave a Reply

