Almond Flax Pizza Crust (THM S)

photo (4)

I have been on a mission to make a healthy, low carb pizza crust, and while I am still tweaking it a little bit, I think I have a winner.   I have a pretty good crust that uses only almond flour, but almond flour is pricey and I really like the healthy and digestive benefits of flax, so I wanted to combine them for a winning crust.  “Winning” = being able to PICK UP the slice of pizza.  Cauliflower crusts are ok flavor-wise, but let’s be real…they are fork pizzas.

Anyway, on to the recipe.  It’s still being perfected, so feel free to add your own tweaks.  This recipe is really for a personal size pizza, or it can serve two with a nice salad on the side.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup almond flour
  • 1/2 cup flax meal (golden would taste best, but I was using up a bag of regular flax meal)
  • 3 Tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 Tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • handful of shredded mozzarella (yes, one handful)
  • Italian seasoning and garlic powder to taste

Pre-heat your oven to 375.

I added all of my dry ingredients and lightly mixed them with a fork before adding the egg, oil, and mozzarella.  Mix all of the ingredients well.

I plopped my dough out onto my pizza stone and shaped it into something like a small circle.

photo 1

Once you have it somewhat shaped, you need to cover it with wax/parchment paper and roll it out until it’s approximately 10″ in diameter.  It will be irregularly shaped.  If that bothers you, use your pizza cutter to make it more even.  LOL!

photo 2

It should be pretty thin…probably 1/8″ thick.  If your oven is done pre-heating, par-bake the crust for 8-9 minutes.  Pull the crust out and crank your oven to 500.  Let the crust cool while the oven heats up and prepare your toppings.  To keep mine low carb, I used a no-sugar added sauce, mozzarella cheese, and pepperoni.  Normally, I would add veggies, but I did have a large salad planned with this meal and I was feeling lazy.  🙂

Top it, and then pop it back into your very hot oven for another 9-10 minutes.  This is an approximate time and your ovens make vary.  Mine is gas and gets pretty hot!

When the cheese is melted, bubbly, and starting to brown, the pizza is done.  Slice and enjoy!  The crust has a mild, but yummy favor, and you can pick it up…WINNING!

6 thoughts on “Almond Flax Pizza Crust (THM S)

Leave a Reply

