Homeschool

Everything changes…

My oldest two kiddos are looking at charter schools for the fall.  Yep, you read that correctly.

Surprised face

Cole will be a freshman in autumn of 2014, and Sydni will be starting middle school.  They are not 100% certain yet, but they are looking, and they both asked to be pre-enrolled in The Leadership Academy of Nevada while they contemplate if it will be their final choice. I have no objection to the school – it’s meant to be rigorous and is considered a liberal arts/classical education.  We love our “great books” learning model, even when we contemplate a more traditional schooling method.

My feelings are all over the place.  We have been successfully homeschooling for 7 years now.  We have all loved it.  I am not even exaggerating when I say it changed our lives and my parenting.  I found a passion and gift for teaching I didn’t even know I had.  But the reality is, I always want what is best for them, and to allow them to choose the means that will help them succeed and achieve their goals.  If they want to try a more traditional schooling approach, I can’t really say no.  I have always told them the choice is theirs and I meant it.

I am excited for them, but there is a part of me that was hoping to homeschool all the way through.  This has been such a wonderful experience…I am just not ready for it to end.  LANV is a virtual charter, so I would be doing plenty of helping and teaching with them at home…but the fact is (legally) they would be public school students.  I think I am grieving (a little bit) already.

I am also SUPER excited for them and thinking about what they will need/strategies to make sure they are ready (ugh, standardized testing!).  Sydni will need her own computer, so I have been looking online.  It’s a weird place to be, emotionally.

So there it is.  My heart is a little fragile right now.  However, my youngest, Zoey (9), has proclaimed she is NEVER going to stop homeschooling.  “Never, Mom.”

Thanks, baby girl.  I need something to hold onto for a little bit longer.  ❤

5 thoughts on “Everything changes…

  1. Oh, do I feel your emotions…I was all over the place when it became clear that we were not going to continue, and I didn’t have a younger one swearing we would be HSing forever…I cried A LOT, but I also wanted what was best for them…issue was, it wasn’t so clear…now we are at a new crossroads as to whether J (grade 8) will continue as his religious school for high school. I am following his lead…what else can I do? 🙂

    1. I guess the only thing we can depend on as parents is that it’s blissful and heartbreaking all at once. ❤ Sending you love for the journey!

  2. Just wanted to say that you’re a terrific mom, wonderful teacher, and an amazing person. I hope my kids are as well rounded as yours as they grow up.

Leave a Reply

