Pumpkin Flax Muffin w/ Cream Cheese

If you are on a low carb diet, it can be challenging to find things to eat for breakfast.  Before I decided to change my eating habits, I was pretty much a “coffee only” kind of girl when it came to breakfast.  I don’t particularly love breakfast foods, and I was usually not hungry at breakfast time.  Once I started low carb, I got sick of eggs *really* fast.  Of course, I can also eat leftovers, but I would rather save those for lunch when I am more pressed for time, than for breakfast when I can make something else easily enough.  Conundrum!

I began making eggs in a variety of ways, which helps, and then I stumbled upon the flax “muffin-in-a-minute.”  This is a quick and easy breakfast muffin that low carbers can feel good about.  Still, it was a little blah.  FINALLY, I found a pumpkin/flax muffin-in-a-minute and it has become my favorite easy breakfast.  I am sure I don’t have to tell you about the great health benefits of flax, but if you don’t know, educate yourself!

On to the recipe!

Pumpkin Flax

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup ground flax meal
  • 1 tbsp Splenda granulated sweetener (or sweetener of your choice)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Dash of nutmeg and cloves
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 egg
  • 2.5 tbsp pumpkin puree

Directions:

Combine and mix all ingredients in a large coffee mug.  Microwave for 1:40.  I slice in half and top with softened cream cheese.  This is a “fork” muffin for me.  I can pick it up and eat it, but it’s really moist, so I prefer to eat it with a fork.  SO YUM!

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Flax Muffin w/ Cream Cheese

  1. Pamela says:

    Is flax meal different than ground flax? Hmmm, this looks like a breakfast we could enjoy! Like you, I’m finding breakfast challenging, especially for the kid that doesn’t like eggs. Additionally, I feel like we need our morning to MOVE. I go to the gym for the 6:30 WOD. When I get home, we do breakfast then start schooling. I need this to go off without too much of a hitch so quick breakfasts are helpful. Less than 2 minutes? THAT I can do 🙂

      • Pamela says:

        Thank you so much for answer my dumb question…and so quickly! We’ll be doing this for breakfast this morning. I like that it is so easy my kids can do it independently (well, with supervision).

Leave a Reply

