Fitness · Food

Essentials for Weight Loss Success

As you know, I am not finished with my weight loss journey.  As of this week, I am down 41 lbs and I have approximately 27 to go.  I have been eating low carb, mostly.  The key to any weight loss journey is both knowledge and preparation.  Here are what I consider to be the essentials for success with low carb eating and fitness for weight loss.

1. Educate Yourself.  Read some books, or blogs, and figure out what your plan is going to be.  You have to know what it is that you are getting yourself into – whether you are doing low fat, low carb, primal, paleo…whatever.  Read, read, read.  If you understand how and why the diet works, you will be more likely to succeed.

2. Be Honest with Yourself.  Is the diet path you have chosen sustainable for you, for life?  Low carb works for me because I don’t really miss grains.  I can go without bread, pasta, sugar, etc.  I can see myself happily eating low carb for life.  This is really about your LIFE, not just a short term gain.  You have to change the way you eat forever.  Is the path you have chosen the right one for you?

3. Prepare Properly.  I know this seems like obvious advice, but I know people who started the low carb journey unprepared.  Yeah, you read a book and bought some eggs…so now what?  Did you plan meals for at least a week?  What about snacks?  Is your fridge stocked with the foods you need?  Did you toss the temptations?  Are you willing to cook ahead to save yourself time on a busy day?  Preparation is the name of the game.

4. Move Your Body.  Weight loss does not happen in a diet-only vacuum.  You have to move your body.  Just like choosing the right food plan, choosing sustainable ways to move your body is the only way this whole thing will work.  If you hate fitness classes, that Zumba class at the Y is probably a bad idea.  Everyone can go for a walk after dinner or find some activity they enjoy.  You are no exception.  Find your thing and do the hell out of it.

One thought on “Essentials for Weight Loss Success

Leave a Reply

