Running

So, the running thing…

Your body will argue that there is no justifiable reason to continue. Your only recourse is to call on your spirit, which fortunately functions independently of logic. 

Tim Noakes, author of The Lore of Running

Tim Noakes, author of The Lore of Running

My running is both awesome and not awesome right now.

The not awesome: I recently took two weeks off because of some nagging hip pain.  I eased back in with just three runs in the last 10 days, not very far, and the stupid pain is still there.  I am doing PT exercises, yoga poses, and using a foam roller.  It’s better than before the break, definitely manageable, but I would like it to go away; it’s really bumming me out.  I wonder if the pain is altering my gait even when it doesn’t really hurt?  Like I expect it to hurt, so maybe I am running weird?  I went for a longer run last night and spent the whole time focusing on form, but when I get tired I know my form slips.  My next stop is a chiropractor to rule out any weird leg and hip issues that she can possibly fix.  *fingers crossed*

The awesome: I didn’t lose as much fitness in those two weeks as I expected.  I am a newbie runner, so I expected a dramatic loss, and I was happily surprised.  My first run back was kind of rough, but the second one was better, and last night was GREAT!  I decided to just go ahead and start the 10k training plan.  I knew it was a mental barrier keeping me from breaking 4 miles.  Once I broke it down in chunks, and knew I only had to repeat a few intervals, I was able to get past that barrier for 4.7 miles!!  I am sure I actually ran just over 4 miles and the rest was the warm up and cool down walk.  I feel really positive about this since it was the first time I’ve run for more than 40 minutes.  YAY!

So, that’s the news from this running girl.  I have the Las Vegas Color Run coming up on Saturday and (now) I am officially 10k training.  I’ll keep you posted on this stupid hip.  GAWD, I feel like an old lady every time I say that.  😛

One thought on “So, the running thing…

Leave a Reply

