Cooking · Food

Low Carb American Goulash

I don’t know about you, but I grew up eating goulash on a regular basis as a kid.  It’s the epitome of comfort food for me and feels like “home.”

I have made it for my own family from the beginning and my hubby and kids love it. I made it for my family last night and made a low carb version for myself.  I apologize for the lack of a photo, but I scarfed it down before I even thought about snapping a pic!  I promise to update this post soon with a nice photo, but in the meantime, if you are familiar with goulash, it will look the same, but with zucchini in place of the elbow macaroni.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 lbs lean ground beef
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cans Italian stewed tomatoes (or make your own)
  • 1 can tomato sauce
  • 1 can red kidney beans (low-low carbers may want to omit this, but I ended up with maybe 1/4 cup of beans in my serving, which is not bad at all!)
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic salt
  • 1 tsp dry parsley flakes
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning
  • 2 medium-large(ish) zucchini, sliced and then quartered
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Grated Parmesan cheese to taste

In a large skillet, begin browning the ground beef with the pepper and onion.  Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  Add the olive oil to the zucchini and place them in a pan to roast in the oven.

Drain the grease from the beef and add the tomatoes, sauce, beans, and spices.  Simmer 15 minutes until the flavors are nicely mingled and the whole dish is piping hot.  By this time, the zucchini should be somewhat softened.  You want it cooked, but not overdone and not even browned.  I think mine was in for approximately 15 minutes, while the sauce simmered.  Your time may vary.

Add 1/2 cup of zucchini to a bowl and spoon 3/4 -1 cup of the meat mixture over the top.  Garnish with parmesan cheese and enjoy!  It’s yummy!

This will easily make 6-8 servings depending on your portion sizes.

One thought on “Low Carb American Goulash

Leave a Reply

