Some days, I don’t even *like* my kids…

This is something of a homeschool reality check.  I am no supermom and I don’t have any supermom friends.  Homeschooling parents are just like any other parents.  We are not blessed with more patience, more virtue, or super-human teaching abilities.

In fact, yesterday, I didn’t even like my kids for about five hours.

It’s true.  Maybe some of you are shocked, but I am jut being honest.  I was hot, tired, PMSing and they had pushed my LAST button.  You know what I mean.  It was the end of the day, I had just gotten home with groceries, and I needed to unpack the cold food and head to youth with my 12 year old…back in the 100 degree weather.  Good times!

During this hot, stressful, rushed moment, my youngest was trying to get out of helping put food away.  Not only that, but she attempted to sneak on the TV (which she is grounded from because her room is a disaster).  My oldest, who was supposed to go to youth, started whining about not wanting to go.  Not because he doesn’t love youth, but because he wanted to sit on the couch watching YouTube videos about video games.  Once he is sucked in, forget about real life.  My middle daughter was actually pretty wonderful, but that was only because she had spent the earlier part of the day getting all the drama out.

It had been my intention to get them all McDonald’s for dinner on the way to youth, but as I looked around at their ungrateful, defiant little faces, I had one of those moments when I thought, ” I don’t even like these kids!  Why would I buy them dinner?”

I love my children fiercely, but there are moments when I cannot stand the attitude for one.more.second.  Like I said, I am not supermom.  I need breaks and I need the kids to know when they have pushed too far.  Yesterday wasn’t just about groceries and technology addiction, it had been a day filled with bickering between all three of them.  Add in the heat and it was a recipe for disaster.  I don’t think it’s possible to be blissed out with your family 100% of the time.

So what’s a frazzled mom to do?

I put myself in time out (in my room, with my laptop) and let them have the evening to sort out their problems – and figure out dinner – on their own.  No one died…there wasn’t even a drop of blood.  Sometimes *I* just need to get out of the way, and sometimes they need to figure out that mom does a lot for them, and they should appreciate what I do a little more.  I woke up today feeling much better (so did they).

Even with bad days, I manage to educate them.  It doesn’t take a supermom, it just takes a dedicated mom (or dad).  The good moments outweigh the bad ones.  We still have whining over math pages from time to time, and then there are days like yesterday.  It happens.  Life is messy and complicated.  But a little grace and a time out (for whoever needs it) can really help.

So ‘fess up mamas…do you ever have days when you don’t “like” your kids even though you know you love them?  Am I the only one?

5 thoughts on “Some days, I don’t even *like* my kids…

  1. Fawn says:

    Girl, I am so feelin’ ya on this one! I admire the way you handled it. I read your fb post yesteday and will have to keep that “fix your own dinner” card in my back pocket!

  2. Debi W. says:

    OMG….you just described this entire week! I love my 2 boys immensely (aged 9 years and 10 months) but my 9 year old has been nothing but defiant all week long. Add into that the stress of trying to get some work done (I work from home also) and I’m ready to scream. I like the idea of “Mommy time out.” I’m definitely going to use that. 🙂

  3. oklahomanicole says:

    Oh, sister, yes. Especially with these last few days of school. Everybody has the itch to be done, especially me, and we are all a little “testy” and selfish. I want to shut myself in my room and them in theirs. But then the next day comes and things feel better. Thank goodness.

  4. Wonder in the Woods says:

    I can totally relate!!!! Such a mixed bag here as to what kind of day it will be. The good mixed in with the bad. I’ll write more later. 🙂 I gotta go eat dinner with my family instead of putting myself in time out. hehe

  5. Anonymous says:

    I can SOOOOOOOO relate! I am homeschooling for the first time next year and at times think I have lost my mind!!!!!!!!! I have lost count to how many times I have reconsidered this decision. Thanks for your perspective; glad to know I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

