Life

The HSMJ – Spring is Almost Gone!

In our homeschool this week…we are adjusting to life with screens again, but we have been so busy that we haven’t used them much.  Other than me, for blogging purposes…mostly.  It has been getting hot, too, which makes me a little grumpier than usual.  Poor kiddos!  The lovely spring weather is almost gone in Vegas and they have to deal with Mommy Dearest until late October.

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…we have been living at the YMCA.  We joined last week and the kids have bugged me to go DAILY.  We committed to the first 45 minutes being spent in the gym (so mama can work out) and then we swim or go rock climbing (they do, not me).  We are having a BLAST in the afternoon each day and we can’t wait for the outdoor pools and water park to open on Memorial Day weekend.

My favorite thing this week was…losing 2.5 lbs!

Things I’m working on…losing a LOT more pounds!

I’m reading…”The Truly Alive Child” (review soon) and “The Eyre Affair.”

I’m cooking…creamy pesto chicken with artichoke hearts and sun-dried tomatoes.  IN THE CROCK POT!  Oh yes.  The recipe is posted below.

I’m grateful for…my crock pot?  Does that count?  I am grateful for all the people, things, and fun in my life.

I’m praying for…lots of loved ones.  It seems like everyone is going through something these days.  😦

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…the promised recipe.

Creamy Pesto Chicken with Artichoke Hearts and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

  • 2 lbs chicken, boneless
  • 1 can of cream of chicken or mushroom soup
  • 1 cup prepared pesto sauce
  • 1 jar artichoke hearts, drained
  • 1/2 cup sun-dried tomatoes
  • Seasonings to taste (I used sea salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a dash of paprika because I add paprika to everything)

Throw it all in the crock pot and cook on low for 8 hours.  I served the meat shredded, with a ladle of sauce, on a bed of rice.  Add a favorite veggie of your choice, if you life, or a nice salad.

3 thoughts on “The HSMJ – Spring is Almost Gone!

  1. With the Y, you’re not just a member of the facility; you’re part of a cause. With a shared commitment to nurturing the potential of kids, improving health and well-being, and giving back and supporting our neighbors, your membership gives you and your community the opportunity to learn, grow and thrive.

Leave a Reply

