The Homeschool Mother’s Journal

HSMJ Image

In my life this week…things are getting back on track.  Spring break is over, all the major holidays are over, the weather is gorgeous, and life is fully back in swing. We had a good week of learning and I feel pretty satisfied.  The house could be cleaner, but then again, the house could *always* be cleaner.  😉

In our homeschool this week…we learned more about Julius and Augustus Caesar.  The kids learned what “crossing the Rubicon” means, and “veni, vidi, vici” among other things.  Cole enjoys the book “Augustus Caesar’s World” very much, and he is on the second page of a typed narration about what he has read so far.  Sydni has begun reading a few of her own history chapters from SOTW (and narrating beautifully!).  Zoey has moved into her second first grade reading primer and memorizing math facts like a champ.  I feel good about our spring studies, and I think we will accomplish a lot over the summer.

I am inspired by… books I am reading.  I downloaded some sermons by D.L. Moody and I am also reading a few other theological books.  I am also completing “The Respect Dare” with a friend.  Strengthening my marriage after a year of really hard struggles has become a priority for me.

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…this week was a little slow.  Mostly just sports practices and games.  But it was what we needed after two week of full blast madness. 

My favorite thing this week was…reading a section of “Hope Beyond Hell.”  I actually started crying in the middle of a soccer field at my daughter’s practice.  One of those joyful, totally overwhelmed by God’s love kind of cries.  It was a precious moment.

I’m cooking…lots and lots of crockpot meals.  I made this Italian stew kind of thing yesterday that was pretty darn tasty!  I might even post the recipe soon.

I’m praying for…wisdom in our elected leaders. I have a long list of friends and loved ones who need prayer.  Dish washing is a good time for me to pray.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…it’s just too funny!


6 thoughts on “The Homeschool Mother’s Journal

  1. Stacie says:

    The video you shared was something else! lol I enjoyed reading this post. We are using the SOTW for history as well and it works great for us.
    Have a great weekend!

  2. Kym Thorpe says:

    Dropping by from HMJ… we’re getting back on track after a lot of busy spring activities too. I have to admit I don’t know/remember what “crossing the Rubicon” means, so now I have a little research project of my own to do. 😉 Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

