Weight Loss Wednesday – Week 1

Ok folks, here’s the deal – I am seriously overweight and I need some actual accountability.  Spark People is great, but no one sees my Spark Page and I need people who are actually tracking my progress and cheering me on.  I need a place where I am expected to make weekly updates and this just might be the place for me. I don’t know.  I hate to put it on facebook all of the time because it seems annoying. Thoughts?

So, I am thinking of weighing in here each Wednesday and tracking my progress with fitness as well.  Right now I am clinically obese and something has to give!  So here are the dirty details:

Height: 5’7″ (and a half, but whatever)

Weight: 215 lbs

BMI: 33 (according to Wii fit)

So as you can see, I need to lose approximately 70 lbs, which feels like a lot.  *sigh*

Today I did “Walk Away the Pounds” for 45 minutes.  I also plan to ride my bike for at least 30 minutes this evening with the kids, which will hopefully become a regular habit for the whole family…or taking a family walk.  We all need to move more and watch TV less.  So that is my fitness goal for the moment – 45 minutes of some kind of focused exercise each morning and then 30+ minutes of a family friendly activity in the evening.

My food goals are to eat more often (I skip meals and then eat too much later at night), eliminate soda, and drink 8 glasses of water each day.  That’s it for now.  I will check back in with progress next week, and maybe even a “before” picture if I am brave!

6 thoughts on “Weight Loss Wednesday – Week 1

  1. Laura says:

    You don’t have to lose 70 pounds Becky — you just need to lose one pound. Seventy times. 🙂 You can do it, I know! I think your plan sounds fantastic. I recently learned that it’s really good to drink a glass or two of water right when you wake up and bit before you eat. Gets your digestive tract moving, helps get rid of toxins. (Read: be near a bathroom!!). Good luck, and let me know if you need any specific food ideas. I’ve helped a couple of women lose a bunch of weight when I’ve showed them how/what I eat.

  2. Maryanne Caminas Nehls says:

    i am cheering you on. as i to am trying to lose pounds, i got to from 165 to 149 and now back up to 155 , which makes me weep. i have not been doing the right things.
    i am interested in the above post from Laura, about helping her friends to lose a bunch of weight …i am totally interested in getting food ideas.
    hugs, and i will continue to cheer you on if you promise to cheer me on too.

  3. Wonder in the Woods says:

    Wow, we could be twins! I’m the same exact. I don’t know my BMI but I’m sure it’s not good. I’ll join you but I’m too embarassed to post. I tried this a few months ago on a private blog, then logged into Google+ and found my biggest loser photo in Picasa!! I was clothed but bike shorts on this bod is not pretty. I have another friend with a weight loss blog, maybe I can do it this time… I guess the Tiramisu I had after swimming didn’t really help, huh. :/

  4. salisbury fitness trainer says:

    You sound like you have a lot of support already… keep it up. Maybe you could try and get up to a litre of water for every 60lbs instead of doing the standard 8 glass thing, as we a are all different sizes..

    good luck

    salisburyfitnesstrainer

Leave a Reply

