Homeschool

T.G.I.F!

In my life this week…there were good times with good friends.  One of my McBesties came over to spend all of Tuesday afternoon with me, and then we went out that night for a MNO.  I feel very loved, relaxed and refreshed.  I need to remember to do that more often!  My hubby is healing from his injury, so things are looking good on that front, too.  Just pray that work picks up for him and that the worker’s comp people will move just a wee bit faster!

In our homeschool this week…we had a great week.  I LOVE the book Black Ships Before Troy.  It’s a wonderful adaptation of the Iliad.  It is easily my favorite of all the books we are reading right now, but I am also really enjoying Archimedes and the Door of Science.  We managed to get a full week in w/o an deviations or lapses and that is really rare, so I am celebrating!  Trust me, our schedule does not go off without a hitch very often.  Maybe it had something to do with my MNO this week?  That is a hypothesis worth testing!  😉

Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…I just wrote three blogs on how to build your own learning plan this week!  Check them out if you have time!

My favorite thing this week was…Is it sad if I say MNO?  Bwah ha ha ha!

What’s not working for us me…My house is a pit!  It never fails that if I feel like I am doing well in one area (like homeschooling and blogging) that something else has to suffer.  This week it’s my laundry and my poor, poor house.  Goodbye weekend, hello yellow cleaning gloves.  *le sigh*

I’m reading…The Iliad.  I am refreshing my brain and comparing it to our adaptation. 

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

“Beginning today, treat everyone you meet as if they were going to be dead by midnight. Extend to them all the care, kindness, and understanding you can muster, and do it with no thought of any reward. Your life will never be the same again.” -Og Mandino

8 thoughts on “T.G.I.F!

  1. I so know what you mean about one area being great and something else slides dramatically. Most of the time my house looks like a bomb went off. I tell myself at least it’s “lived in.”

  2. Visiting from THMJ! Thank you for the book recommendation – I’ll have to look into that one. Very impressed that you’re reading – on your own – the Iliad! Good for you!

  3. No diverations!? That is fantastic!!! I will definitely have to check out your blog posts on building your own learning plan. Sounds like what I have been looking for! Thanks for mentioning it. 🙂 LOL and no it’s not bad… I would call a MNO the best part of the week too. Especially since they hardly ever happen for me. It sounds like you had a fabulous week. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

  4. Just wanted to say that I am LOVIN your blog, I know I dont comment very often but you are easily my favorite homeschooling blog right now. 🙂

    Alexia

  5. Our house is suffering too. Before our camping trips I started some new habits that flew right out the window as soon as we went camping. LOL I’m still paring everything down and out. With this new living room remodel, I won’t bring it all back in. I won’t. I keep telling myself that. LOL

  6. I do enjoy finding new blogs with this journal link-up. At first that quote seems harsh, but it is true. I do look back and wish for more time with friends and loved ones who are no longer living.

Leave a Reply

