The Homeschool Mother’s Journal

In my life this week…there have been challenges and blessings.  My husband is injured and can’t work.  It’s definitely a challenge to remain calm amidst a stressful time.  Taking care of him has been a big job.  He is getting better, but his full recovery will take a while.  In the meantime, I am learning lessons on how to serve with joy, even when I am exhausted, even when I have a million other things to do.  There is always a lesson to be learned if I embrace it with an open heart and mind.

In our homeschool this week…we have had a great week!  It’s the end of our third official week back (already!) and things are moving along smoothly.  I feel like we really have hit our stride right now and I hope I can keep it up when group activities and events start happening in September.

I am inspired by…my kids – they are pretty spectacular.  They have not complained one bit and they seem to be loving our topics and materials this year.  I am having a hard time choosing a “star student” this week, in fact.  I will keep my *fingers crossed* that it stays this way all year.  (At least most of the days!)

My favorite thing this week was…starting “Black Ships Before Troy.”  SUCH a great book about the Trojan war.  I find myself wanting to sneak ahead and read it on my own.  🙂

What’s working/not working for us…The schedule I have hammered out and adjusted several times over the last few weeks is working beautifully!  Things are running smoothly for the moment, but I am sure some bumps will pop up soon.

I’m reading…Back to Basics: A Complete Guide to Traditional Skills by Abigail R. Gehring

I’m cooking…homemade hot pockets and taquitos for my freezer.  I need something easy and non-boring ideas for our daily lunches.  The usual rotation has been getting VERY old.  So far, they are pretty good!

I’m grateful for…friends, good health, a loving family, and many more blessings.  The important things in life come into sharp focus during a time of struggle.

I’m praying for…my husband to heal quickly and feel better, and my sister who is facing major health issues of her own.  They are on my hear and mind constantly.

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

I have been playing around with vintage hair and makeup lately.  This was my latest attempt – 1930’s soft waves and a little bit of a Jean Harlow look for makeup.  It’s fun and girly and I love doing it!

13 thoughts on “The Homeschool Mother’s Journal

  1. Jessy says:

    Oh, no! Sorry to read about your husband! And how wonderful that your kids are doing well despite some downs in your life! Head up! I hope he heals quickly! Stopping by from THMJ!

Leave a Reply

