The Homeschool Mother’s Journal

In my life this week…

Still more chaos and uncertainty.  I am not sleeping in healthy patterns (up way too late, sleeping way too late).  I am worried…and also angry and a lot of other emotions.

But there have also been some wonderful moments this week.  I have enjoyed some good movies with the kids and quality time with good friends.  I am so blessed in my friendships, let me tell you!

In our homeschool this week…

I am ashamed to say we did not accomplish as much as I hoped – math, more myths, Spanish, ASL, composer & artist, some language lessons and that’s it.  No science this week, very little history.  Erg.  A lot of it has to do with my sleep issues and general funk.  I need to shake it off already.

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…

I saw good friends a couple times this week on my own, which was nice.  I can’t really remember the last time I was able to hang with the ladies w/o the kids, but I think it was a couple of months.

We also spent the afternoon at the park yesterday, so the kids could play and all the moms could work out a plan for the coming school year for our local homeschool group.  It was productive and I did end up planning nature studies for an entire year.  So, there’s THAT.

My favorite thing this week was…

The appreciation dinner on Tuesday for moms that host activities in the group.  It was a luau, and we ended up playing Apples to Apples for a couple hours.  It was SO MUCH FUN!  I needed it.

What’s working/not working for us…

I need to get some melatonin and start getting to bed at a decent hour, because my depressed mood is NOT working for any of us.

What is working is my overall schedule and system.  Even though I was semi-checked out, the whole week was not a waste.

Questions/thoughts I have…

Who wants to come clean my house?  LOL!  🙂

Things I’m working on…

I am working on an article or two, and trying to finish a couple library books.  I am also wrapping up a crochet project, hopefully this weekend!

Books I’m reading…

Water for Elephants

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

4 thoughts on “The Homeschool Mother’s Journal

  1. Anne says:

    I loved Water For Elephants. Let me know what you thought of it when you’re finished!

    I hope your sleep gets better. I know how hard it is to make anything work when you’re playing catch up with your sleep.

  2. Beth says:

    I totally understand the sleep situation. I can’t even take melatonin since it keeps me up all night!

    I love your cartoon! I feel that way with my son’s reading.

  3. Michelle says:

    I’m sorry you’re having challenges. I know that depression thing. Did it for most of 2010.. up late.. sleep late. What with all we went through, you can understand why. But still.. I know it stinks and hope it passes for you soon! ❤

  4. CM in the City says:

    I totally understand the sleep thing and being in a funk because of it (or having weird sleep because of being in a funk…not sure which is the chicken and which is the egg). I’m working on a similar issue and am tackling it by making my mornings pleasant and productive – making it a joy for me to get started early with my day rather than feeling like I’m dragged into it behind schedule before I even start. Things have improved for me and I’m hoping they are for you too.

    Anyway, that comic totally cracked me up. Sooooooo close to home. 🙂

Leave a Reply

