Queen’s Language Lessons – A Review

I recently purchased “Language Lessons” workbooks for all three of my kids from Queen Homeschool Supplies, Inc and I had to write a review about them because they are absolutely FABULOUS! Without a doubt, these are my favorite homeschool purchase of the year!

I have been looking over Queen’s website and receiving their catalogs for a couple of years now, but I never had the extra dollars in my budget to order any of their products…until this spring. I wish I had known how much I would love these, or I would have made room in the budget somehow.  All of Queen’s products are created around a Charlotte Mason philosophy of education.  Otherwise, would I even be talking about this?  I don’t think so!  😉

They include:

  • copywork
  • picture study with creative writing prompts
  • phonics (Little Ones only)
  • grammar instruction
  • writing activities
  • editing

The lessons vary day-by-day (other than copywork which can carry on for several days), and they follow a CM philosophy of being short, so there is little opportunity for boredom.  Not that I think boredom would even be an issue; my kids LOVE these books!  They often ask to do more than one lesson in a day.

There are 12 books in all, and they are written to last an entire 180 day school year.  Queen offers a preview of each book on their website to help you decide if you might like them, and where to place your child.

What I love:

  • short lessons/Charlotte Mason-y
  • gentle introduction
  • varied lessons
  • complete package (no more running around creating copywork or ordering separate books for grammar/writing)
  • picture studies included (these have not replaced our regular picture study, they are just a complement)
  • good quality for the price

I will definitely be purchasing these books all the way through high school.  If anyone else has experience with these, please leave a comment and let me know what you think.

11 thoughts on “Queen’s Language Lessons – A Review

  1. Sally says:

    Hooray! I just received LLLO Volumes 1 and 2 and am so excited to get started with them with my 4 and 7 year olds! I am a little unsure of which one to get for my 10 year old, however. Thanks for the review!

  2. Beth says:

    My 11 year old daughter just finished the first volume for the Elementary Child. I have been happy with it. I am going to get her Volume 2 and may look at the Very Young books for my 9 year old son.

  3. Cindie says:

    We have used LLLO Volumes 1, 2 and 3 and are now on to LLFVY Volume 1 for my 2nd grader. My Ker is almost finished with LLLO Volume 1, which she started last spring. We love them. I’ve looked around, but I’ve never found anything we like better. I plan to use these all the way through as well. Hope you are still enjoying them. 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    I started using these for my 6, 8, 10, 12 & 14 yr. old children since September. We love, love, love them! Complete and enjoyable!

  5. Jessica says:

    I started in Sep with LLLO Vol2 for my 4 yrold at the time(turned 5 Dec) and Vol.3 for my 8 yr old son. I love that they are short lessons also and shockingly my son will do more than one lesson in a sitting. We have enjoyed Log Cabin Days and The Storybook of Science also.

  6. Kristin C. says:

    Hi! I discovered Queen’s curriculum earlier in the year after reading about it on a homeschooler’s blog and became very interested. My daughter (then 8 yrs) hated the boring textbook approach of drilling, drilling, and more drilling of grammar rules. I ordered the Language Lessons for the very young 2 and we have not looked back since! She loves it! I love it! My son (5) also uses the Language Lessons for Little Ones and he loves it as well! He has a very short attention span and these short lessons are perfect for him and he is getting what he needs. I am looking forward to changing over to her other subjects for the next “school year”. I feel blessed to have found her curriculum and the Charlotte Mason approach within our first year of homeschool! I could have spent years drowning in the overwhelming sea of “traditional” public school type work.

  7. Leesa Russell says:

    Hello Ladies! I have been one who has been drowning in the traditional public school type work. I just recently stumbled upon the Charlotte Mason philosophy of education, and I am wanting to make the switch next year. In my search for curriculum I keep returning to Queen’s curriculum for language. It is VERY appealing to me, however, I am fearful that it won’t be enough. I understand that a gentle approach is the goal. Could anyone offer me some counsel on how this curriculum plays out over the years? I have been using Abeka and I’m not sure where to place my daughters. My girls will be 1 & 2 grades next year. Thanks!

  8. Leann says:

    we also LOVE L.L!! I was so sick of doing busy work like “government school” the kids was not getting it, but they love L.L and understand it. My 5th grader even does it himself. We go over it together to check but its so easy to read and understand . We will stick with this till the end. The other thing I wanted to mention is the recomend by queen suppy is Life of Fred math. This is a must!! If you like L.L. Life of Fred will put the icing on the cake! My kids hated math. we did everything, bob jones, saxon, mathu see just to name a few, but the cant wait to do the next lesson of this math. It goes into so much more than math alone. you have to check it out and look at sample pages.

  9. Anonymous says:

    Thank you for this review. I know it is a bit old butg wanted to comment. I googled to out some more about Queen’s homeschool Language Lessons series and ended up here. You convinced me it will be a good decision. I am going to be working outside the home full-time and for a bit my husband will be the one at home. He wanted “workbook” but I wanted to stay true to our reasons for home school.

  10. sarah says:

    I, like Leesa, wonder is it “enough”? I guess it just seems too good to be true! Are the Queen products sufficient for high school? Thank you for any input.

Leave a Reply

