The Homeschool Mother’s Journal

I am new to this blog meme, but I think I will make it a part of my weekly blogging. It’s only for me, to keep a record of the week-to-week happenings in my little homeschool. My blog has shifted lately from a “here’s what we have been doing” type of homeschool blog to a more informational blog. Which is fine, but I have been feeling a need to shift the focus again, for a little more balance. 🙂

In my life this week: There has been a lot of chaos. Bad news, lots of wild, fluctuating emotions, and a general feeling of helplessness. I am still learning to give things to God and leave them with Him. It’s an ongoing process, but I think I am doing better with it. I feel peaceful and ready to tackle the challenges ahead…at least right this moment.

In our homeschool this week: We had a sporadic week. We managed to tackle quite a bit of math, some Greek myths, language lessons, ASL, art, composer study, picture study, poetry/recitation, and some ancient Greek history. Plus, we had a meeting for Sydni’s “Magic Treehouse” book club, and a nature study class. Overall (and especially in light of the previously stated chaos), not a bad week.

Places we’re going and people we’re seeing: We saw friends at book club and played at the park which is always nice! The weather has been pretty wonderful so far, and not too hot. We spent Wednesday at Springs Preserve for nature study, again with more friends and more time at the playground when we were finished. We have a party to go to tonight, to say goodbye to a homeschool family, and even though we will feel a little sad, it will still be a wonderful time, I am sure!

My favorite thing this week was: Nature study. I try and lead two classes a month for the local homeschool community and it is always my favorite activity. I am inspired by how much information the kids retain, and how amazing their sketches are. Oh, how I love the Charlotte Mason method! I am taking a break over the summer (and because it’s WAY too hot here in the desert past Memorial Day), but I have BIG plans for Nature Study in the fall.

What’s working/not working for us: The language lesson books from Queen Homeschool have been a total lifesaver for me. I should have a review ready next week, but I can tell you right now that they make copywork and grammar a breeze for us to get through, and the kids really enjoy them.

I don’t have anything that’s not working for us right now. I feel pretty settled and happy with what we are doing.

Homeschool questions/thoughts I have…

We are getting ready to “school” through the summer. I really hate that word, but I haven’t really come up with anything to replace it. We will be continuing our studies through the summer months. I think that sounds a little better, don’t you? We took nice, long breaks in the fall, at Christmas, and in the Spring when the weather was nice, or we were busy having fun. Now that the hot, indoor months of the year have arrived (Las Vegas, baby), we plan to get some thing accomplished. I don’t plan on having a formal break until August, at which time I will plan a new year. The kids are totally on board with this plan, thankfully. We had a lot of fun this spring. 🙂

A photo, video, link, or quote to share:

20110526-115846.jpg

Having fun at Red Rock Canyon, while Grandma Gwen was in town for a visit.

6 thoughts on “The Homeschool Mother’s Journal

  1. Crystal says:

    Becky
    I think blogs should be a little of both, instructional and personal. It is hard to find a balance. I have not done so well on my own blog lately but I am working on it.
    I love the picture of the kids! That is fantastic.

  2. Tanya says:

    Love your blog! I just love the Charlotte Mason method as well..It’s my first year working with it and making it my own. We are continuing through the summer as well as we take breaks here and there when we feel like it! 😉 Looking forward to following your future blogs, advice, and inspiration to keep going!!.. I don’t know why this time of year we tend to get down and out..Maybe it’s just spring fever hitting us..not sure. We will be leaving next Friday for our first camping trip of the year.. Time to rejuvenate our minds, bodies and soul’s! No schedules, just play time!! We all need it every now and then..

    • Becky says:

      Tanya, thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. Do you have a blog as well?? I hope I see you around soon! 🙂

  3. beyondmartha says:

    YEA! Another Charlotte Mason mommy! This was our first year using this method (from Ambleside Online) and I didn’t believe it could happen, but all three of my big children thrived even with their very different learning styles. I loved it!

    • Becky says:

      I am so glad you stopped by my blog and commented! I love having new readers/visitors. I tried to go to your blog, but it’s not working? I hope I see you around the blogosphere soon!!

      I also (obviously) love Charlotte Mason. We’ve been doing this for 4 years now and it just gets better and better. 🙂

Leave a Reply

