Charlotte Mason · Homemaking · Homeschool

Handicrafts – Crocheting

I am a crochet enthusiast.

No really, I am!  I don’t get as much time to crochet as I would like, and I certainly don’t have time to create “how to” videos, but I can link some for you!

Crocheting is a wonderful handicraft to teach your children.  Kids as young as 6 or 7 can pick it up easily, though it really depends on their patience level (and yours) and how much they *really* want to learn.  Crocheting is a suitable handicraft for BOYS and GIRLS.  I know many boys who enjoy knitting and crocheting, and both boys and girls learn these skills in Waldorf schools.  I happen to think yarn crafts are very calming and help children develop patience.  Yarn is very affordable (especially with sales & coupons), and the items made are useful, which meets Charlotte Mason’s criteria for a handicraft:

The points to be borne in mind in children’s handicrafts are: (a) that they should not be employed in making futilities such as pea and stick work, paper mats, and the like; (b) that they should be taught slowly and carefully what they are to do; (c) that slipshod work should not allowed; (d) and that, therefore, the children’s work should be kept well within their compass. (Vol 1, XXI, pg. 315-16)

In addition to the videos I am posting (from Naztazia), you can also find help and free patterns at Lion Brand’s website, and lovely free patterns on Bernat’s website.  There are many, many more!  A simple Google search will find more patterns than you will know what to do with.  🙂

This is a fantastic beginner video from Naztazia.  It’s filmed very well, with clear instructions.  You won’t find a better video on YouTube.

When you have mastered the techniques in video #1, move on to video #2:

At this point, if you have learned the techniques in these videos, I recommend trying a few simple patterns.  Look for the ones marked “easy” and go from there.  Reading a patterns is pretty simple:

ch – chain
sc – single crochet
dc – double crochet
sl st – slip stitch
hdc – half double crochet
tr or trc – treble crochet
inc – increase
dec – decrease
* – repeat the section between the asterisks
 

Don’t forget that counting stitches is incredibly important!  You should be able to make a simple scarf, poncho, or afghan within a week or two of learning.  I used to practice all the stitches over and over again with very cheap yarn until my stitches and tension were consistent.

When you are ready to learn other techniques, check out Naztazia’s other videos, or watch some of the videos posted by Beth.  You might have to do some searching on Beth’s YouTube channel, but she has some real gems among her videos for unique stitches and techniques.  I am learning from her, too!

I hope that some of you who read my blog will be inspired to learn to crochet!  It’s so much fun, and I love making gifts for people.  I need to finish some “pay-it-forward” gifts for this year, as a matter of fact.  Even if your kids are not interested, do it for yourself.  I have a feeling that once your kids see what you are making, they will be interesting learning to crochet as well – especially little girls who are into American Girl dolls.  There are LOTS of free patterns for AG dolls clothes.   YAY!

Here are a few of my favorite beginner/easy patterns (you will need to register at Bernat.com to view the actual patterns, but they are free).

3 thoughts on “Handicrafts – Crocheting

  1. There are some fantastic videos for lefties on youtube as well. My oldest could not learn from me no matter how hard we tried. She learned from watching the videos on youtube.

    I miss crocheting. I have not done it in so long because of an injury to my dominate hand. 😦 soon I hope.

  2. I like to crochet also. I don’t get to do it as often as I’d like. I’m thankful on the info on the left handed videos because my daughter is left handed and I’ve tried to teach her. She picked up on some of it, but would do a lot better by watching someone crocheting from her same hand. I don’t know why I didn’t think to find a video on youtube, we find everything else on there.

Leave a Reply

