iPhone Homeschooling – Project Noah

Project Noah is pretty much the coolest app….EVAH!  I downloaded it a few weeks ago, because it sounded interesting, it was free, and I wanted to try it and review it.  I didn’t realize I would be falling in love.  *heart*

If you are a nature loving geek like me, or a mom using the Charlotte Mason method (which is big on nature study), then this is the app for you!  If offers amazing field guide opportunities, and a global community effort for observing and learning about the natural world around us.  You can read more about the project here.

20110422-051702.jpg

When you log in, you have the option to document a new “spotting,” accept a mission, or check out what badges you have earned for previous spottings and missions.

Missions can be featured, local, or global.  The choice is yours.

20110422-043418.jpg

 In the image below, I have selected “local.”

20110422-043427.jpg

This is one of the “global” missions – a best wildlife picture.  Some of the prizes are amazing!

20110422-043522.jpg

One of the “featured” missions for this week is for earth day.  YAY!

20110422-043513.jpg

You can opt to view the field guide in a number of ways.  AND you can upload a photo of a subject that you are unsure of, and find out what it is.  How cool is that?!?!

20110422-043500.jpg

This is an example of a local upload to the field guide.  It literally makes us all part of a global nature study effort.  I love that!

20110422-043451.jpg


This app is free in the iTunes app store, and is available for both iPhone and the iPad.  It’s also available for the Android.



One thought on “iPhone Homeschooling – Project Noah

  1. Diana says:

    This is awesome, had the boys down load it on their iPods now, and on my I pad, but right now I am wishing I had the iPhone so I could have Internet…without paying for it! Lol thanks again!

Leave a Reply

