Not MY daughters, Reebok!

I have always preferred Nike running shoes and athletic gear, but I have owned a few things from Reebok in the past, such as swimsuits and a few outfits and pieces of clothing.  Not anymore!

As of yesterday, Reebok will no longer be getting any of my family’s hard earned dollars.  Here’s why:

I am so disgusted, I can barely string a coherent sentence together.  Why (someone PLEASE tell me why), a commercial for athletic shoes needs to be sexualized like that?

Why is it OK for Reebok to tell my daughters that the “real” reason for exercising is so a man can appreciate their assets?

Why is it OK for my son to absorb the message that he should ogle women and only value them for physical appearance?

I have no problem with a shoe that helps tone the butt and thighs.  That’s a good thing, really, and with a smart marketing campaign I might have been interested in these shoes.

I am definitely not interested in contributing to the misogynistic view that women are nothing more than bodies to be objectified, and that the only reason to be fit is to be sexually appealing to a man.  What about good health?  What about strength?  What about endurance, self-esteem, and pride?

So, Reebok, you have decidedly FAILED in my estimation.  I am sure there are many men who appreciate these “commercials” you have created.  I’d be willing to bet there are plenty of women who see “nothing wrong” with wanting to look sexy so men will notice them.

I want to look attractive for my husband, too, but for more than my body!  I hope he is attracted to my intelligence, my humor, my personality…as well as my physical appearance.

The real problem with these ads is that they feed into an already warped sense of value in America.  Media images such as these lodge themselves in the minds of young children (and adults), and continue to perpetuate the dysfunctional idea of women as mere sexual objects.  Girls begin to believe the message and their self-esteem becomes wrapped up in how sexually appealing they can be.  Boys continue to embrace the message because it lets them off the hook in regard to their behavior and having to respect women as equals.

These might seem like “just commercials” to many viewers.  But what does it say to us, as a society, if it can be so blatant, and yet we sit around asking, “What’s the big deal?”

“The eye is the lamp of the body. If your eyes are good, your whole body will be full of light.  But if your eyes are bad, your whole body will be full of darkness. If then the light within you is darkness, how great is that darkness!”  Matthew 6:22-23

Many thanks to Cyndi for alerting me to these “ads.”

10 thoughts on “Not MY daughters, Reebok!

  1. Beth C. says:

    You’re absolutely right, of course. I’m sort of torn on Reebok altogether, though, because they did sponsor the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer that I walked in this year, so I have a bunch of shirts and hats with their logo along with the Avon logo and a personal attachment to them as they played a part in MY experience raising money. So, they do put money into a huge women’s health issue which is great, but those commercials have got to go! I think that parents of girls are very aware of advertising campaigns like this and their negative effects, but I WILL remember as my boys grow how detrimental they can be to boys as well. Not my SONS, Reebok!

    During a discussion about Ralph Lauren ads with their DISTURBINGLY distorted, badly photo-shopped photos of extremely thin women, a friend pointed out to me that it’s not these OUTRAGEOUS ads that are most dangerous. They’re really so ridiculous that we can EASILY point out their faults to our children. It’s the more subtle ones, the subtle roles played in sit-coms and on commercials, etc. that are truly dangerous, because those we let slip by without talking about their implications.

    Just keep talking to them, like I KNOW you will and it WON’T be your kids that pick up those attitudes.

    • Becky says:

      Beth, I agree with you about the sitcoms and more subtle messages. It’s just scary to me how many comments on Youtube were asking what the big deal was with these commercials. UGH!

      I have a lot of issues with sitcoms (in particular) taking the feminism overboard approach…essentially saying that all men are idiots and that their wives “keep them in line,” so to speak. There are plenty of other issue there as well. *sigh*

      We parents have a LOT of work and talking to do.

  2. Beth C. says:

    It’s really insidious. Justin and I got into a discussion last Father’s Day about the content of something as “innocuous” as Mother’s Day and Father’s Day cards. I was appalled when I went to buy him a card at the number of cards that were not complimentary AT ALL, about 2 or 3 just at the grocery store referred to farts! Then he told me that he experienced a similar feeling trying to buy a Mother’s Day card for me, because while most of them were supposed to be complimentary, many of them were basically… I love you because you do such a great job cooking and cleaning for me. I am SO with you on the sit-com thing of men being idiots and the wives running the show. That “theme” is in far too many commercials as well. Apparently, men are basically just boobs who ogle women, bumble household chores and child care, and slack off at work. And their TV wives (sit-com or commercial) simply roll their eyes and smile and fix things because, well, we can’t REALLY expect more from men, can we?

    Anyway, the gender stuff really hits a button with me. I could go on and on, but won’t. I’d be preaching to the choir. 😉

Leave a Reply

